All Young People are Thriving in Aotearoa New Zealand


To advocate, promote and enhance the development of youth health practitioners and services for young people in Aotearoa New Zealand.


  1. To improve the health of young people age 12-24, in NZ by facilitating the education of health professionals in the area of youth health. By promoting, supporting and furthering the knowledge skills and scope of doctors, nurses and allied health professionals working within the health specialty.
  2. Benefit the community by ensuring that young people can access health professionals with specialist skills by working with the professional bodies and colleges in the NZ health sector to enable health professionals to meet the standards required for recognition as youth health specialists.
  3. Do anything necessary or helpful to the above purposes, including participation in research, training and certification of practitioners.


SYHPANZ is an organisation whose strengths lie in its membership network of Youth Health and Development Professionals across New Zealand with the ability to draw on this expertise.  

These Professionals utilise their skills predominantly in the primary health care sector and within more specialist Youth Health Services. 

SYHPANZ is governed by an executive committee consisting of the
following members for 2016 - 2017:

The Executive Committee elected in July 2016 are:

  • Chairperson Lee-ann O'Brien        Nelson                           
  • Secretary     Suzie King                 Auckland
    Treasurer     TBA
    General Executive Members:
  • Tania Pinfold                                  Rotorua
  • Bernie Hetaraka                             Northland
  • Sue Philip                                      Otago
  • Vicki Shaw                                     Palmerston North
  • Elizabeth Hosking                         Auckland
  • Ria Schroder                                 Christchurch (The Collaborative Trust)
  • Janine Ryland                               Wellington (Ministry of Health - Officio)

Let us introduce you to them:

Chairperson: Lee-ann O'Brien
Youth Health Nurse Specialist
Nelson Marlborough DHB

“Lee-ann grew up in Kawerau in the Bay of Plenty and is married with 2 awesome kids. For the majority of her working life she has worked with young people, initially as a youth worker and for the past 15 years she has worked in the health sector with young people. She gained her Masters in Health Science in 2012 with the focus of her dissertation on Spirituality and Risk taking behaviours in young people in Aotearoa New Zealand. Lee-an parent unit or who are being supported by CYFS.
Lee-ann’s vision is to be part of the solution of enabling the health an currently works in Nelson as an Adolescent Nurse Specialist with young people who attend Alternative Education, Teennd community sector to work in partnership to best meet the needs of young people and their whanau.”

Treasurer: TBC

Secretary: Suzie King
School Nurse, Papatoetoe High School Auckland
Auckland School Nurses Group Representative

Executive Member: Dr Tania Pinfold
GP, Rotovegas YOSS Rotorua

Tania grew up in Tauranga, and has worked in Rotorua since 1987.  She is a GP specialising in adolescent health, based at Rotovegas Youth Health (a YOSS).  She is the clinical leader, overseeing work in the YOSS, high school clinics, and Rotorua Youth Justice Residence. Her vision is to have high quality youth health services meeting the needs of all young people in NZ, and improving the adverse health indicators of our young people.  


Executive Member: Sue Philip
Public Health Nurse, Public Health South

Executive Member: Bernie Hetaraka
Youth Health Nurse Specialist, Whangarei
Vodafone World of Difference Fellow 2013


Executive Member: Dr Vicki Shaw
Palmerston North
Vodafone World of Difference Fellow 2012

Executive Member: Elizabeth Hosking

Ministry of Health Representative: Dr Janine Ryland
Clinical Advisor - Child & Youth Health, Clinical Leadership,
Protection & Regulation Business Unit, Ministry of Health
Ria Schroder
Research & Evaluation Manager
The Collaborative Trust Canterbury
The Collaborative Trust Representative
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software